To download the complete program, click here.


  • Cathy Darling Allen, Shasta County Registrar of Voters

Opening Address

  • Catherine Hazelton, The James Irvine Foundation

Election Partnerships: Promoting Participation & Improving Election Administration

  • Moderator: Kathay Feng, California Common Cause
  • Jennie Bretschneider, Office of California Secretary of State
  • Michelle Romero, The Greenlining Institute
  • Darren Chesin, Senate Committee on Elections & Constitutional Amendments
  • Dean Logan, Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
  • Heather Smith, Rock the Vote

Election Reforms: What Should We Prioritize For 2013 And Beyond?

  • Moderator: Trudy Schafer, League of Women Voters of California
  • Kim Alexander, California Voter Foundation
  • Hillary Sklar, Disability Rights California
  • Gail Pellerin, Santa Cruz County Registrar of Voters
  • Lori Shellenberger, American Civil Liberties Union
  • Arturo Vargas, National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials Educational Fund

The Big One: Are California’s Elections Ready For The Next Major Disaster?

  • Moderator: Doug Chapin, Future of California Elections
  • Nancy L. Ward, Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • Pam Smith, Verified Voting
  • Jill LaVine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters
  • Evan Goldberg, Office of California Secretary of State

Next Generation Voters: Do We Need Better Civic Education, Tech Tools, And Voting Methods To Engage New Voters?

  • Laura Deehan, CALPIRG
  • Astrid Garcia, National Association of Latino Election and Appointed Officials Education Fund
  • Steven Ochoa, Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund

Voting Systems Innovation: How Do We Create More User-Friendly, Accessible And Secure Systems For Casting And Counting Ballots?

  • Efrain Escobedo, Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
  • Susan Lapsley, Office of California Secretary of State
  • Eugene Lee, Asian Pacific American Legal Center

Setting The Agenda For 2013: Future Of California Elections Policy Forum

  • Moderator: John Myers, ABC News10
  • Brian Jones, State Assembly
  • Alex Padilla, State Senate
  • Shawnda Westly, California Democratic Party Leland Yee, State Senate