March 8, 2018

The conference program is available here, accompanied by an accessible version here. Please note that slideshows and video of every session is not available.

Master of Ceremonies, Catherine Hazelton, Voter’s Choice California Consultant

Keynote, The Honerable Alex Padilla, California Secretary of State

Opening Plenary: Opportunities and Challenges for Elections in 2018

Session A: New Frontiers in Language Access: How California Law is Expanding our Democracy in 2018

Session B: Remote Accessible Vote-by-Mail: A New Way for California Voters to Vote Privately and Independently

Session C: Census 2020: What’s at Stake for California and its Democracy

Session D: Campaigns, Candidates & Voters: Navigating the California DISCLOSE Act

Featured Speaker, Kei Kawashima-Ginsberg, Ph.D., Director, The Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning and Engagement (CIRCLE), Tisch College of Civic Life, Tufts University | slides

Session E: Engaging the Public and Underrepresented Communities in District Transitions Under the California Voting Rights Act (CVRA)

  • Moderator: Kathay Feng, Executive Director at California Common Cause, National Redistricting Director at Common Cause
  • Nicolas Heidorn, Director, California Local Redistricting Project
  • Tanya Pellegrini, Voting Rights Attorney, MALDEF
  • Jonathan Stein, Staff Attorney and Voting Rights Program Manager, Asian Americans Advancing Justice – Asian Law Caucus
  • Jerome O. Torres, Past Chairperson, Chula Vista Districting Commission

Session F: Searching for Election Information: A Practical Overview of How Voters Acquire Election Information Online

  • Moderator: Michelle Bishop, Voting Rights Specialist, National Disability Rights Network
  • Monica Crane Childers, Director of Government Services, Democracy Works
  • Aaron Nevarez, Governmental & Legislative Affairs Manager, Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
  • Kurt Sampsel, Government Services Project Manager, Center for Technology and Civic Life
  • Jen Tolentino, Director of Policy & Civic Technology

Session G: Successful Preregistration Strategies to Expand Youth Participation

  • Moderator: Rosalind Gold, Senior Director, Policy, Research and Advocacy, NALEO Educational Fund
  • Mynor Godoy, Senior Field Organizer, Yvote, Movement Strategy Center
  • Jesse Melgar, Deputy Secretary of State and Chief Communications Officer
  • Emily Rusch, Executive Director, CALPIRG and CALPIRG Education Fund

Session H: Conditional Voter/Same Day Registration: Increasing Voter Opportunities to Register to Vote | slides

  • Neil Albrecht, Executive Director, City of Milwaukee Election Commission
  • Neal Kelley, Registrar of Voters, Orange County
  • Jamie Kennerk, Chair, Board of Directors – CALPIRG Students
  • Pete White, Executive Director and Founder, Los Angeles Community Action Network
  • Raúl Macías, Manager & Attorney, ACLU of California Voting Rights Project

Closing Plenary: Implementing the Voter’s Choice Act in California’s Diverse Communities